Mother's Day hammock

Somehow, even Cheeva ended up jumping in the hammock. Have fun relaxing, mom!

At the end of the day, the child formerly known as Little Girl, and who now goes by Mini Teenager, declared: “This was the best Mother’s Day ever.”

Never mind that I, her mother, never got to sneak out at 6:30 a.m. to watch the sunrise in peace and quiet. She was up at the crack of dawn, wishing me a Happy Mother’s Day and chatting away about…something.

Never mind that she insisted on walking the dog with me at 7 a.m. when I told her to go back to bed. She got tired halfway through the walk and we turned back home, not before she spied a beautiful pileated woodpecker on a pine tree (I’ve been teaching her well).

Never mind that I never got to curl up with a good book in the new hammock (my Mother’s Day present). Instead a had a giggle box climbing all over me and telling me to move my butt so she could have some space to read HER book. Then she made me get up and take her to an impromptu party (it was fun, thank you neighbor).

Never mind, because were it not for all those wonderful disruptions, I wouldn’t be celebrating Mother’s Day.

Thank you, my dear, sweet, Mini Teenager for all the wonderful ways in which you change my plans.

